The Brave Little Toaster

Three amazing things happened in 1987. The first two were the births of the creators of this blog. We were each born in October 1987 less than a week apart. The other thing to happen was the release of the classic film The Brave Little Toaster. I don’t believe in coincidences as much as I believe something in the universe was aligned this year to make three awesome creatures all in the same calendar year.

the brave little toaster

The Brave Little Toaster is a film about personified household items on an adventure to find their owner. The main characters are the brave Toaster, the shy child-like blanket named Blanky, a bright yet sometimes dim lamp named Lampy, Radio who was a radio and not a retarded black guy, and Kirby a vacuum cleaner. There’s also a really creepy scene in the beginning where the air conditioner voiced by Phil Hartman kills itself because he fears their owner is never coming back. The 80s were so much cooler than they are today.

Fearing that their owner whom they refer to as “Master” (because I guess they like the abuse) will never return they set out away from the cabin they are in. Their Master is a child who grew up playing with these items. What kind of child has a toaster, a blanket, a lamp, a radio, and a vacuum cleaner as toys? His parents can own a vacation cabin but they can’t buy him a football?

The group sets out on an amazing journey. They face a lot of frightening obstacles like a storm in the forest and falling into quick sand. There’s also another incredibly scary scene that involves clown firemen and their Master nearly getting burnt to death. Not only did this make me fear clowns and fire, I was also completely turned off from cooking in general.

clown_brave_little_toaster

(This image is why you never see a clown college anymore these days)

During the trip to the big city to find their master they all nearly get turned into spare parts in an appliance shop. This is a completely ghetto part of the film that I don’t think really holds up. These days they would have just been tossed into the trash or given to a grandmother with Alzheimer’s who’s happy to have her family around for the holidays and won’t fuss over the lousy gifts, not turned into other gadgets.

The characters finally do get to the big city where they find their Master’s apartment. He’s a bit older now and headed off to college. Hey, Toy Story 3 isn’t very original after all. Unfortunately they have missed Master who has journeyed off to the cabin to pick up his appliances. Because we all know how realistic it is to drive an hour to pick up a lamp from your summer home can be.

the-brave-little-toaster

(I wish the swivel chair was personified. He could get dizzy and puke everywhere)

Our heroes end up in a junkyard during the conclusion. Hey, Toy Story 3 isn’t original whatsoever. Not wanting to ruin it for you, I’ll leave this story where as it is now so you can buy a VHS copy for yourself.

This is a great children’s movie about friendship, sacrifice, and hoarding items that can and should be easily replaced once they are obsolete. This movie has everything a kid’s movie should have. It has inanimate objects talking, a great story, and scenes that still give me nightmares.

17 thoughts on “The Brave Little Toaster

    • This was always one of my favorites too when I was a little boy. It had a lot of positive subtle messages. One of the biggest was about not being materialistic about certain things but caring a little too much about your stupid vacuum.

  1. This was one of my favorites too. I honestly think it got me on the track to my love of horror movies (in a roundabout way obviously…).

    Did you know there was a sequel??? My friend just told me that the other day and I was like “What? No. My childhood is dead now.”

    Also, like in “Blue’s Clues”, it blew my mind to find out Toaster is supposed to be a girl.

      • Ha. IMDB is much better with their brief storyline summary.
        “Thomas M. Disch’s underwhelming sequel, based on the book sequel, has our heroes zooming off to, of all places, Mars. “

      • Ha yeah I saw something about the sequel just the other day for the first time. It feels a little too ridiculous. Shouldn’t the third one be the one where they throw away logic? For sure it was a darker movie than most kid’s movies. I’m not usually into horror but since I’m staying somewhere with Cable I go back and forth between Chiller and Fear Net channel. Buffy the Vampire Slayer marathon on right now. My day is set.

      • Buffy marathon??? Joss Whedon is my hero.
        Oh that you lived closer 😉

        Actually, I recommend his “Cabin in the Woods” even to people who aren’t big horror fans. It’s an unusual sort of “horror” movie.

      • I heard Cabin in the Woods was good. Then I heard it was bad. I don’t know what to think.

        Hey we live in the same country. I can’t be too far away can I?

      • That is very optimistic of you. I think we live on the same side of the country too.

        I think Cabin in the Woods is excellent, but it is such a niche sort of movie that I understand the sharply contrasting views. What I’ve actually experienced for the most part is friends who aren’t big horror fans liking it and friends who *are* diskliking it. Which is funny because I consider myself a huge horror fan and I loved it.
        But perhaps Joss Whedon’s snarky humor and witty dialogue distracted me.

      • Joss is great because he not only creates great shows and writes them he also helped to write Toy Story. Like seriously? I want to be this man.

  2. I don’t think I’ve seen this movie all the way through. Which is sad because it’s basically my sibling–being born in the same year as me and everything.
    I do remember watching parts of it at friend’s houses. And the only part I remember is the air conditioner committing suicide. RIP Phil Hartman. And RIP Air Conditioner.

    lol I like that part of the movie was ghetto…!

    • The whole movie was pretty ghetto. You could literally probably reenact it all with strings and common household appliances. You should check it out though. It will surely freak scare you a bit.

  3. I cannot adequately express how much I loved this movie when I was a kid. My parents taped it for us off of Disney Channel and we must have watched it 300,000 times. I love the part when they go to the super-modern apartment and all the appliances there sing the “More, More, More” song. To this day my toaster is the most beloved of all my kitchen gadgets.

    • It’s weird, I loved this movie and haven’t owned a toaster in probably 4 years. I didn’t realize I had not had a toaster in so long until I bought waffles and had to microwave them.

      This probably makes you feel young again knowing one of your favorite childhood films was also mine. I need to watch this film again. I mostly worry I’ll get too nostalgic and cry.

Kommentz

