Didi Conn and Kidz Showz

I don’t know what made me think of Didi Conn the other day. For some reason she must have been channeling my brain, asking to be featured on this blog. Who am I to deny such greatness?

Didi Conn is most famously known for her role as Frenchy in Grease. You know, the mousy girl who dyes her hair pink? Beauty School Drop-out? Embarrassingly enough, Didi Conn also went on to play the same role in Grease 2. Desperate times. However, long after Grease, which I would actually consider kid’s movie, Didi Conn went on to do other, more pathetic projects. That being said, the characters she chose were always happy and lovable. Either she was being type-cast, or she wasn’t acting at all and she’s actually that happy all the time.frenchy grease

One endeavor from Ms. Conn’s resume that I remember from my early childhood is Shining Time Station. Didi played Stacy Jones, the manager of the train station. There were a couple of kids on the show, one was supposed to be her nephew. My first thought, looking back at this show, was why weren’t these kids in school? And if they did manage to ditch every day, why would they pick a train station to hang out in? Gross. There were a couple of other characters, one of them named Schemer who was actually pretty funny. George Carlin was also randomly in this show. Even more random is that Mr. Carlin took over the role that Ringo Starr originally played. The late 80’s/early 90’s were such magical times.DidiConn

This show was somehow connected to the success of Thomas the Tank Engine and parts of it were even incorporated into the movie Thomas and the Magic Railroad, which Didi Conn also appeared.  Train fetish anyone?

Didi Conn is lucky because she has a weird voice and I think she realized early on that lending her voice to cartoons could totally be her thing. She played a part in popular kid’s shows like The Jetsons (only one episode), The Flintstones (The Flintstone’s Family Christmas TV movie…yikes), and The Wild Thornberrys where she played the part of Muskox #2. She didn’t even score the lead Muskox! The first Muskox must have been a big star. Nope. I just checked. Muskox #1 was played by a nobody. Come on Didi, you’re better than that. I think.

As you can see, Didi Conn hates herself because she keeps signing up for skimpy roles. I guess you have to take what you can get these days. I just picture her scream-crying to her agent that she was in Grease and deserves better than this.

9 thoughts on “Didi Conn and Kidz Showz

  1. I’m not even positive I know who she is, but I know the voice just by seeing her face. Muskox #1 probably prank phone calls her all the time and insults her.

    More important, what were those savages The Flinstones doing celebrating Christmas? Something is wrong with that timeline.

    • Hah totally. If I beat out Didi Conn for Muskox #1 I would forever relish in it.
      You’re so right. Flintstones came before Christ. Something is messed up. Unless they could predict the future, in which case, awesome.

    • Lol I knew you would appreciate this for some reason. I loved Grease when I was younger too! I didn’t get half of the dirty jokes, but who cares, right? Ahh Rizzo was the best!

  2. Didi Conn has always been my favorite actress. There’s a seasoned pro behind that cute little voice, and she has the ability to melt grown men’s hearts. Although she cut back her professional career to care for her family, I have a hunch we haven’t seen the last of her.

    • Greg, I love that Didi Conn is your favorite actress. She’s definitely fun to watch and has always lifted my spirits. I checked on IMDB and apparently she has a few projects in the works. Yay! 🙂

  3. At least Rizzo got one of the aunts from “Practical Magic”. Poor Frenchie. Frenchy? I wasn’t a big enough Grease fan, obviously. More a Rocky Horror girl myself.

  4. Haha! I haven’t thought of Didi Conn in many moons. It’s really lucky to be born with a weird voice quality. Look at Fran Drescher. Easy career choice – the doors just open for you.

    • Lol no one should have a reason to think about Didi Conn. I love how someone commented that she’s their favorite actress. So funny.
      Yeah! I could do a post on actors/actresses with weird voices!

Kommentz